Entertainment

What Doctor Who taught me 

I became a whovian by the end of 2012 when I started watching the show online. I didn’t skip the ninth doctor, as some people unfortunately do quite often. So I started from scratch with absolute no idea what the show was about, how the stories were gonna play out and how the characters were. I was literally and completely new to this world, I even thought that the Doctors were actually called “9, 10, 11” and were all different people. I had no idea about the regeneration.

So I started watching it and it took me a few weeks to watch season 1 because for some reason I couldn’t be very enthusiastic about it, it wasn’t calling me like I was expecting and so it took me bit longer. I was in shock when the ninth doctor regenerated because I wasn’t expecting it at all. And then David Tennant shows up and I was like “ok, so this is the Doctor now”.

I started Tennant’s era the next day and it took me just a day or two to watch the entire second season and absolutely cried my eyes out at the finale. From then on it took me only a couple of weeks to watch the whole rest of the show. I got into it deeply. I loved it. I lived it. I breathe it. I was going to bed and waking up thinking about it. I became utterly obsessed. I didn’t talk about anything else at home and my mum thought it was just a phase, how wrong was she.

My love for this show only grew bigger and bigger at each season, each episode, each actor. I’d spend entire days watching the show, looking at things on tumblr about the show, tweeting about the show, trying to find as much as possible about it, even spoiling myself a little but I did not care, I wanted to know everything there was to know about this world, this story, this magical science that was time travel in a blue box.

It soon and quickly became one of the most important things in my life, something I cherished with my whole heart and soul. I allow it to start shaping my personality. It made me want to be better. It made me want to be someone who the Doctor would be proud of, it made me want to be someone worthy of travelling in the TARDIS, someone people would look up to the way I looked up to the Doctor. It made me want to be a positive role model for my friends and family and anyone who came into my life.

It taught me about love, friendship, acceptance, kindness. I found myself in situations where I would literally ask myself “What would the Doctor do?”, and I’d do what I thought was right by his name. It helped me a lot in various situations.

One of the most important things that Doctor Who taught me was hope. It taught me that better days are always yet to come no matter how hard and rough things might be at one point in life, nothing lasts forever and there’s always hope and something greater to come. We just have to be patient and hang in there. To never give up and to never stop believing. To always be positive by trying to see the bright side of every little situation.

Doctor Who is such a wonderful and important tv show, appropriate for any age and gender, you can sit down watching a random episode and actually enjoy it and learn something from it.

Most importantly Doctor Who gave me a fandom, a community, it allowed me to meet people who are as passionate about it as I am, it allowed me to have some of the best experiences of my life, and it made me feel accepted for who I am. Because that’s what Doctor Who does for you, no matter who you are, where you come from, what you do for a living, Doctor Who Will make you feel accepted like you belong and are part of something greater than all of us.

I could go on and on about how amazing and wonderful and important this show is, but I think I’ve made my point. I truly hope the show goes on for many years and that it keeps surprising and never gets boring or predictable. Because I never intend to stop watching it.

Once a whovian, always a whovian.

Helena
xx

Leave a Reply

